logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2005 1:12:50 AM(UTC)

Groups: Guests

Hi all, I'm just starting out and, as a newbie, I have a question which you veterans may be able to help me out with.
I have decided to run my reflux still using water from a submersible pump located in a large water butt.
Can anyone tell me what flow rate of pump I should buy. Is 400 liters per hour ,variable, sufficient or should I go for something more expensive, say, 2000 liters per hour ,variable,. I don't want to spend a fortune on a 2000 liter pump if it is going to be massive overkill.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2005 2:24:37 AM(UTC)

http://www.water-pumps-online.com/PonyPumpSelfPriming115Volt360GPHModel50AC110B. html

Funny, I was thinking about the same question recently. Do you think a pump like this ,360 gph, would be suitable? Maybe a water relief outlet prior to entering the still itself, to slow the amount of cooling water, if needed?
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2005 3:15:46 AM(UTC)

Working on the flowrate of the pump that Brewhaus sell ,315 gallons per hour, I think it wise to go for the 2000 Liter pump and use the variable adjustment to control the flow as necessary.

The pump I am considering is one you can buy from any aquarium/fish shop. A link to one can be found attached.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=57230&item=4348773031&r d=1
#4 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2005 2:01:50 PM(UTC)

Rick...do I assume then that Brehaus's submersible pump can handle the 4-5 feet of lift and still give a sufficient flow rate and will not burn out over a 10 hour run???

Thanks
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2005 7:47:09 AM(UTC)