logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline High_Wine_Guy  
#1 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2007 12:06:00 AM(UTC)
High_Wine_Guy

Groups: Registered

"Howdy everyone, this is my first time posting and I'd like to get everyone's opinions before I start into this. I'm a total newbie to distilling but have been learning everything that I can for the last year.

I recently went down to New Orleans and spent a day with Master Distiller Chris Sule at Celebration Distillation. They are the distillers of Old New Orleans Rum, awesome stuff, http://www.neworleansrum.com/home.shtml.

Let me tell you, Chris is one of the nicest guys around and really went into a lot of detail regarding the craft. Also we sampled numerous barrels of really premium, 10+ year old rum, which gave me some real insight into aging.

The biggest thing that I noticed, other then their really interesting home made column and pot stills was that they run everything through the pot still first and then run that through the column still second. Running this way allows them to pull 185+ proof out of the column still on a single pass. Chris's cuts are pure, and he mentioned that he'd rather waste more and get only the good hearts and then rerun the tails later.

Also, and here's the big one for me, they carbon filter their rum and it doesn't loose the flavors. I've always read that carbon filtering rum or any other type of flavorful spirit would strip it completely.

Now being new to all of this I was in awe of the whole operation but it made me want to get home and order everything that I needed to start making my own rum, (even though I took home several bottles of theirs and it blows the big name stuff away).

Fermenting for fun,

Sam"
Offline brew  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2007 4:58:31 AM(UTC)
brew

Groups: Registered