logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline doctor  
#1 Posted : Friday, July 06, 2007 1:44:19 PM(UTC)
doctor

Groups: Registered

"I'm a newbie to the wonderful world of distilling. I have an easy still. I'm making vodka and so far after two runs I'm disappointed with the final product. Here is how I have done it so far.
""grain bill"" white granulated sugar, distilled water, and black label turbo yeast (14-17%)
In the first run the mash after sg readings calc'ed out at 9% after five days. It was a bit cloudy. I did not do any cuts. So I know I'm wrong on that part. After using an alcoholmeter the numbers can back at 19% on a volume of 750ml.
In the second run same ""grain bill"" but let sit for 9 days. The mash was clear and I did not pull up the sediment figuring that was bad. The calc'ed sg was 9% again but I may have an wrong initial sg number. Using the easy still I did make the head cut measuring off the nose. I cut about a cup off. I got about 900ml out and estimated the tail cut by the first run volume. I do not know if that is correct? Again I ended up with 19% final product.

I ran both batches through activated charcoal. This is bought from Brewhaus. I did run warm distilled water (1 gallon) the first time and in the second run kept the same AC removed about half and replaced with ""fresh"" AC and rinsed again before filtering. The second run was filtered twice.

The second batch was very good in when comparing to the first but still had a very low alcohol %.

My questions are do I just get a PS II high capacity or work on my ""cuts""? I'm thinking that I have too much tail and would love to know when to do so? I"m thinking that I could keep the temp"s more in check with the PS II.

I'm at a loss on what to do from here.
Thank you very much for your help and advise."
Offline admin