logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 24, 2004 10:16:04 PM(UTC)

Groups: Guests

Hi all,

Just purchased a stainless reflux and have just completed a second run. The column,~3Ft w/marbles, and boiler,~50 Litres, is made completely from stainless.

I also own another reflux,copper/stainless, that I have been using for about 4 years with no problems, it produces around 90-94 %. The new still has no insulation on the boiler and it takes 2 hours to get the entire column hot. The old one takes 1hour 15min

The problem I have is that the output smells 'farty' or like sulphur. I have cleaned the column since the first run but the same odour exists. I also had a lot of trouble stabilising the temperature with the water flow. I always use activated carbon for filtering but I wont put this rubbish through the filter until the smell is gone. It still produces 95% ethanol. Does anyone why this is happening ? Is it lack of insulation ? Any help would be appreciated
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2004 5:41:55 AM(UTC)

Good morning

I also just purchased a new stainless steel reflux type still with 3ft. column and 25Liter pot.
Did you say you have a 50liter pot and you use marbles in the reflux tube??
The one i purchased recomended the use of rings not marbles in the 3ft tube this could be a problem. Also the type of yeast you use makes a big differenc in the smell and purity of the batch. Also using a good clearing agent will help the smell.

Good luck. If this helps drop a line.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 25, 2004 7:09:46 AM(UTC)