logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline countryboy  
#1 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 11:10:32 AM(UTC)
countryboy

Groups: Registered

"Hi everybody,
I've been making wine for the last 10 years or so and have been making brandy (out of the wine that wasn't up to my standards) for the last year. I have been using my father in laws PSII 8 gallon pot still. I recently bought the 15 gallon premium psII. I will be using a blichmann burner. I have been reading and researching for the last several months and think im ready for a corn likker run lol. Im looking to make a 12 gallon wash. My grain bill is 14 lbs of cracked corn, 5 lbs of malted barley, and 1 lbs of malted barley. The process I am planning on following is: heating up 6 gallons of water to 180*F, stir in the cracked corn and steep for 90 mins, let cool to 153*F and add the malted grain, keep temperature at 153*F until starch is converted (3 hrs). Check by doing an iodine test. Once converted add to fermenter and add rest of water. Aerate vigorously. Once temp is below 90*F pitch yeast. Airlock and let ferment and clear. Once clear, run it. I left out the initial hydrometer reading steps and ph and water hardness test, but I will do them as well.
Can anybody give me any suggestions or pointers. And let me know if I am missing a step or anything?"
Offline RandyMarshCT  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 3:48:10 AM(UTC)
RandyMarshCT

Man
United States