logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Steamkid  
#1 Posted : Monday, June 24, 2013 1:16:25 PM(UTC)
Steamkid

Groups: Registered

"I've been a plumber for the last twenty years, so when my cousin approached me about building a still, I was interested in testing my skills on a reflux column after a bit of research.
I made a 36"" tower out of 2"" copper.
At the top of the column is a 10"" long coil made from 1/4"" roll out tubing.
I didn't like the very common design of these copper tubes that pass through the column and continue out to jacket cool the outlet pipe.
I did however still jacket cool the outlet pipe.
Knowing what I know now, I probably would have built a Nixon still, but I have been getting pretty good results.
I couldn't get copper scrubbers, but I found copper screen roll at an art supply used for sculpture molds. I rolled it tight and stuffed it in the column.
I also lined the 20 gal pot with copper.
So, with that, I've reached 87% abv on my third run, and that was mash that was only about 13%.
My goal is to hit 95%abv. Maybe I could with a more potent mash but I won't know until my next run.
Is there anything inherently wrong with my design?
I've attached a crude drawing.

Thanks"
Steamkid attached the following image(s):
image.jpg (157kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Offline John Barleycorn  
#2 Posted : Monday, June 24, 2013 4:26:02 PM(UTC)
John Barleycorn

Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 5 post(s)
"Hi Steamkid,

Welcome to the forum!

The drawing you posted shows a cooling management (CM) design.