logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

2 Pages<12
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline captinjack  
#21 Posted : Sunday, February 23, 2014 6:24:29 AM(UTC)
captinjack

Groups: Registered

Originally Posted by: flht01 Go to Quoted Post
How time flies ...

I'm doing a few things a little more consistent and getting decent results, considering I'm still new to this too. I'm also using RCRed's DistilliTrak to help remember settings and their results, etc... and it helps.

I do stripping runs with high heat, single roll of mesh and the coolant to the condenser only. When I get enough low wines to make 7 or 8 gallons diluted to 35% I do a spirit run. I do the spirit runs with low heat and a single roll of copper in the top column. I added a needle valve to the reflux tubes and feed them from the bottom up. I run just a trickle of coolant to them, water flow on the return line off the tubes is a broken stream and the water is fairly hot. The biggest improvement for me has been making stripping runs and then a spirit run. Also, I'm not good enough to blend. It's taking all I can do just to make decent cuts and I'm giving the hearts some time to oak before judging the results. It's decent now but a few months should make it a lot better. The white can be used for mixing but not sipping, it still has a little bite to it. I haven't tried the white after aging a little... yet.

Oh, this method is the way I've been running both the UJSSM and both of NCHooch's recipes, the all grain and the gumball that uses the spent grains from the all grain.

Hi flht01
I haven't had any time in a while to do any distilling but I'm starting back up again and I'm doing an all grain bourbon (for the first time) that's in the fermenter now and I'm just looking for a few more details on what you doing...

1. On your spirit runs are you just using the top column or both upper and lower?