logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline jtmarsh  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 27, 2013 1:05:38 PM(UTC)
jtmarsh

Groups: Registered

"hey everybody! so, i am a noob to distilling and have ran my first 2 semi-successful batches using my PSII and a 1500W hot plate with RSC. My questions are the following, and any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.
[LIST=1]
[/LIST]
[LIST=1]
  • How long should I expect for a 10 gallon run to take from turning on the hot plate to finished distilling?
  • Are there any tricks to getting the mash up to temp quicker to induce a boil quicker?
  • What are feasible alternatives to using the hot plate? Propane? Keg with internal elements? etc.

• [/LIST]
    My runs have been taking 12+ hours and generally result in me giving up about 2am and going to bed with only 1/2 gallon of hooch. I am learning a lot more about mash, recipes, and fermentation, so I am working on fine tuning that end, but it would be nice to cut that time down some from what it is. I am anxious to see a whole batch through, but I usually get up about 5am, so when 2am rolls around, I am dead.

I am an Engineer and have a bunch of buddies who are helping me out with this issue, and we have come up with some ideas, but I would like to see what solutions others have found on the forum. Any help you guys could provide would help me out tremendously. Some of our ideas are ""over engineered"" and getting really expensive! haha.

Thanks in advance,

Jason"
  • Offline Maddawgs  
    #2 Posted : Wednesday, February 27, 2013 11:44:37 PM(UTC)
    Maddawgs

Originally Posted by: jtmarsh Go to Quoted Post
    hey everybody! so, i am a noob to distilling and have ran my first 2 semi-successful batches using my PSII and a 1500W hot plate with RSC. My questions are the following, and any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.
    [LIST=1]