logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Mkjt88  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 22, 2012 6:04:33 AM(UTC)
Mkjt88

Groups: Registered

I am very new in distilling and I am not very good on telling when my heads are over.. and when the tails start. I keep everything after 173 or so.. Toss everything before which are the heads correct? But I never know when to separate the good stuff from the tails. What are some of the easiest ways to know when the heads end and tails start?
Offline scotty  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 22, 2012 6:24:38 AM(UTC)
scotty

Groups: Registered, Moderator

I DIDNT WRITE THIS---I COPIED IT FROM SOMEWHERE.

Making the cuts
Probably the most elusive part of the distilling process for making whiskey, is making
the cuts from heads to hearts and then to tails. Making a cut from one phase to the next is
the point where the distiller switches the output so that itís collected in a different receiver
than the previous phase. At the end of the spirit run, the heads will be in one container,
the hearts in another, and the tails in a third one. The question is, when to switch from one
phase to the next?
Experienced distillers do this by taste. Even though there are measurable parameters
like still-head temperature and percent alcohol of the evolving spirit that can be used to
judge when to make the cuts, taste and smell still remain the most reliable method of determining
them.
The empirical parameters for judging the cuts are: the percent alcohol of the spirit that's
flowing out of the still (i.e. the evolving spirit); and, the still-head temperature. However,
these vary from one still to the next, and vary based on the properties of the low-wine (e.g.,
percent alcohol, and quantity). It is possible to develop a consistent process using the same