logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Bushy  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 21, 2012 12:09:15 PM(UTC)
Bushy

Groups: Registered

"Hey Scotty, the bag from a bolt idea sounds like it would work just fine. I've never tried making corn essential oil before, I've only done herbs.
Try dried cracked corn that's been rehydrated, soaked in some water, first. I would only soak it long enough to soften it up some, you don't want it mushy.
If that does'nt work out well I would try useing fresh corn cut off the cob.
Save the hydrsol as it might be useful in your mash. Mine usually has a lot of aroma in it.

I'm in the middle of remodeling my first pot still, made with a pressure cooker. Going to add an herb pot on top. I've out grown the chem lab it's too small for my use but is a great way to learn."
Offline scotty  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, August 21, 2012 12:35:09 PM(UTC)
scotty

Groups: Registered, Moderator

Bushey i just read that corn oil comes from the germ and its a difficult process to extract. Is it possible in this case because steam might cause the corn, cracked or otherwise to gum up the works that boiling it and condensing the steam could produce some condensed flavored product.

I want to get some advice before trying the corn or the rye that i have. I just started to dig out the glass rig with the liebig. But i really dont know what to do. I have done quite a bit of infusion with vodkas but this is a very interesting new game.

Should i just drop the corn idea.

I'm turned on enough to convert the pot still that i bought from rick a couple of years ago and a POS boiler that i purchased from a competitor into an essense rig
Offline Bushy  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 21, 2012 1:15:06 PM(UTC)
Bushy

Scotty I have no idea if it would produce what your looking for. It may just become a jelitinous mess. BUT I think it's worth a try.