logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline flat350  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2012 12:35:30 PM(UTC)
flat350

Groups: Registered

"If cost and access to materials to build a copper reflux column were not an issue,what size tubing would be ideal to put on a 15 gal. keg.I'm a plumber by trade and have up to 4"" copper available to me.The construction should be the easy part,I have access to many fittings,electric heater elements,TIG welder,MIG welder,OXY/ACt tanks,have the SS keg.I just want to build it right,any suggestions.

Steve"
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2012 1:47:30 PM(UTC)

Groups: Guests

Hey Flat welcome. Would be nice to have the problems you got with all that large bore copper laying around. Person could prob peddle a stick or two of that and go buy the nicest storebought model essential extractor in town. There is a place on the net called moonshine-still.com or similar which has complete plans and parts list for a tall valved refluxer. The plans for it call for two inch. My plumber is supposed to be building that one for me but he is being mighty pokey. Hoping thats a sign it be cheap..lol. Never know anybody rich enough to afford four inch. Guess you could scale it up or something. Anyway might give you some idears to work with. That can supposedly also be turned in a VM (vapor management) model pretty easy from what a smart feller tole me one time. That is a real good system from the way it was splained. Kindly keep us up to date as the project unfolds itself.
Offline muadib2001  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 08, 2012 1:49:31 PM(UTC)
muadib2001

I have no experience with reflux stills, but here are some links to HD where reflux still plans are laid out:
http://homedistiller.org/equip/photos-alex

http://homedistiller.org/equip/designs/reflux_plan

http://homedistiller.org/equip/concept