logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

3 Pages123>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline CWC  
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 21, 2012 2:15:32 PM(UTC)
CWC

Groups: Registered

I am new to distilling and ready to purchase the Essentail Extractor PSII HC with 15 gal. premium kettle but want to add an internal heating element. I have read many forum ideas and designs, many with home-made electrical controllers above my level of understanding, and wanted to get some input on a very simple design to see if it will work. An electrician told me to use a stainless universal hot water heater element 120v 1500 watt wired to a 2000 watt dimmer switch (http://www.amazon.com/Lutron-Ce...id=1327192514&sr=1-1). Just need a 1" NPSM threaded fitting on the kettle when ordering. Can anyone give me some opinions or experiences. Will the 1500 watt element heat up enough? Thanks.
Offline heeler  
#2 Posted : Sunday, January 22, 2012 3:58:08 AM(UTC)
heeler

Groups: Registered, Moderator

Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 15 post(s)
"CWC, most electritions know that a light switch dimmer will not work with a water heating element. I cant remember why exactly but for safety sake get a router speed controller ($35 is pretty close) ebay will deliver it to your door.

Ive never seen a stainless water heating element but the cost would prolly be prohibitive for me and besides the regular $20.00 will do just fine.

With that still you mentioned if you request when you buy they will add a threaded piece to the boiler at the time of sale. And that fitting is called - a SS half coupling with NPT threads (national pipe thread) Brewhaus know that and will take care of it for you.RollEyes"
Offline CWC  
#3 Posted : Sunday, January 22, 2012 10:59:19 AM(UTC)
CWC