logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline PopcornsFriend  
#1 Posted : Friday, December 24, 2010 2:44:59 PM(UTC)
PopcornsFriend

Groups: Registered

"I'm new to the forum and should introduce myself. I'm a documentary photographer and have been doing my art for forty two years. My specialty is the vanishing culture in Appalachia in the area where I live. Over time I've photographed moonshiners, serpent handling in church, KKK cross burnings, cocke fights and such.

The first moonshiner I ever met was Lawt Gudger who lived in middle Tennessee on Monteagle Mountain. Lawt had been crafting corn whiskey for about forty years when I ran across him leaning up against a log on a dirt road waiting for a customer to arrive to deliver his spirits. Lawt lived on the mountain and never strayed more than 50 mies from his home in the 80+ years of his life.

The last moonshiner I worked with was Popcorn Sutton. I spent a great deal of time photographing his personal life and his business operation. I spent a great deal of time in the still house photographing his stills, him and his still hands making whiskey. I was with popcorn the day his still house caught fire and burned to the ground. The fire was the result of a PO'd still hand, 250 gallons of gasoline under 100 pounds of pressure, many propane cylinders and about 2000 gallons of high proof whiskey. The net result was his arrest.

In working with Popcorn I talked him into writing out his recipe for sour mash likker. I have that hand written recipe and have become interested in duplicating his whiskey as close as I can. Unfortunately he took his life before I had a chance to get answers to a few questions. Thats why I'm here.

I have nearly a thousand images of Popcorn in various settings and thought you would like to see a couple.