logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Nedhead  
#1 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 3:16:53 PM(UTC)
Nedhead

Groups: Registered

"Hi,

I am REALLY new at this and have learned tons from these forums...what a great community!

I'm getting ready to do my first grain run and am really excited. I've been reading everything I can and think I have a good grasp at what I am trying to do. I do have a question about sour mash. I'm trying to figure out where this fits in the process and how best to approach this task. Any help would be greatly valued.

Thanks!!!!"
Offline flyboytr  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 10:40:37 AM(UTC)
flyboytr

Ned,
I'm not a grain brewer...Sorry...no help there. But, I just wanted to say welcome to the Brewhaus Forum! :)
Offline mtnwalker2  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 3:21:01 PM(UTC)
mtnwalker2

"Welcome. You are in for some fun time here. You say you are new. Have you done some sugar brews? What still concept are you useing? Are you familiar and have done cuts etc on run. The reason I am asking, is if not the above, you may want to do some sugar wash ferment before the grains, or else a UJSM which is in the archives, or if you can't find it just ask.

The sour mash process is when you do a sweet grain run, addd back a certain amount of the leftover stillage from the keg, to the lees or left over yeast and such in the fermenter. As it works out, you will eventually get a lacto type ferment which is much more acid. It balances each ferment to be simular and gives addded acid to the ferment. Rum makers do the same thing with dunder.