logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline starchild  
#1 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 6:30:12 AM(UTC)
starchild

Groups: Registered

Hi everyone, I'm new to making spirits and would like to make a 100% rye recipe. My thinking is to mash in at 150 degrees with 1qt per lb of grain, and let it convert for 1-2 hours. At that point I would add cold water to get the temp down to 65 degrees and add beer yeast for a beer between 6-8 abv, then double with a pot still. I would then use medium toast chips for color & flavor. What do you think?
Offline mtnwalker2  
#2 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 12:28:18 PM(UTC)
mtnwalker2

"
Originally Posted by: starchild Go to Quoted Post
Hi everyone, I'm new to making spirits and would like to make a 100% rye recipe. My thinking is to mash in at 150 degrees with 1qt per lb of grain, and let it convert for 1-2 hours. At that point I would add cold water to get the temp down to 65 degrees and add beer yeast for a beer between 6-8 abv, then double with a pot still. I would then use medium toast chips for color & flavor. What do you think?

Will make an excellent whiskey. What most people don't realize is you have to have a roller mil or grinder to expose the inside of the grains to the gelatinizint and mash. I always made mine with dehulled rye grains so not as much tannins and so easy to run through my roller mill. Just a slight crack and not into a meal so easier rack at end of fermentation. Bit more expensive to buy, but without the hull, you need a lot less grains. Either way, with the chaff or dehulled the grain needs to be cracked or ground. You cannot get a good and proper mash otherwise. Barley Malt or package enzymes both work will, but are needed. Rye malt will work if you can find it."
Offline starchild  
#3 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 1:51:19 PM(UTC)
starchild