logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

2 Pages<12
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
#21 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2007 4:11:34 PM(UTC)

Groups: Guests

stephen,
fer what it's worth, i agree with bill94. i would use 14 awg wire fer this. i've been a maintenance electrician fer 10 years and just as a precaution i would use 14 awg. in industrial applications no one uses 16 awg fer anything besides control wiring, where there is not gonna be any major amperage on the wire. from a residential application, no wires in yer house is less than 14 awg. the difference in price is not that much, and my personal opinion is 14 is better, safer, and will last longer. this forum is here to keep people informed and safe. just my 2 cents worth.
buzzman
#22 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2007 10:22:24 PM(UTC)

Robert:

I agree with buzzman in that 14 gage is better. It costs a wee bit more but it is worth is. As far as the ground wire I originally snipped it off and ran it for a long time that way with no problem but it always bothered me so I went back and put a small screw in the botom flange on the keg below the bottom and ran the ground wire there. I just feel safer.

For the record I got the 2000W coil at home depot and it cost the same as a 1500W one. It isn't absolutely necessary, but it just helps do the initial heatup faster. I'm thinking that I will have a 240 plug installed in my new house in Florida and replace the 2000 with a higher watt coil. That initial warm up period is just a big waste of time, so the sooner I get through it the better.

Cheers!
#23 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2007 2:13:00 AM(UTC)