logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2003 11:58:39 AM(UTC)

Groups: Guests

I'm just getting into distilling. I have purchased several books that claim to be definitive guides on how to distill spirits. However, they all focus on the use of reflux stills to make pure alcohol, or in one case how to adapt a reflux still to make whiskey. AS I understand it, to make whiskey, a pot or gooseneck still is required. None have plans for building a pot or gooseneck still, and none have recipes for bourbon. Any help that might be offered on how to build the still and some authentic recipes would be greatly appreciated. Directing me to a book that discusses these matters also would be appreciated. Thanks!
#2 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2003 7:34:02 PM(UTC)

There is a fairly detailed plan for a traditional american moonshiner's pot still in the first book of the Foxfire series. foxfire is a nonprofit organization that works to preserve appalacian mountian lore.
#3 Posted : Saturday, March 08, 2003 10:55:00 AM(UTC)

There are grain recipes for making bourbon at http://homedistiller.org/wash-grain.htm including sour-mash styles recycling the backset. As far as pot still designs, I havent seen a lot of information - most are built to suit the materials available on hand. What will be critical is the amount of internal reflux that happens off the lid & lyne arm. All I can suggest is that you have a good look around the photos available ,many on the same site above,, and find one that you may be able to replicate yourself. Limited pot-still design information at http://homedistiller.org/designs.htm

Tony
#4 Posted : Friday, July 30, 2004 11:58:13 AM(UTC)