logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline turko77  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2015 6:31:44 PM(UTC)
turko77

Groups: Registered

I am very new to distilling and ran my pot still for the first time last weekend. I had 5 gallons of raspberry wine that I wanted to get rid and thats what I used...I ran my still slowly and got some very good hearts running about 150 proof. My question is that this doesn't have any flavor at all and I would like to make some brandy out of the wild plums I picked last fall, but would like to know how to get some flavor with it..thanx for any input

turko77
Offline dieselduo  
#2 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2015 5:27:41 AM(UTC)
dieselduo

Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 13 post(s)
try using some pectic enzymes with your plum ferment. Seems to bring more of the flavor profile over in brandies
Offline Whodat  
#3 Posted : Saturday, April 18, 2015 4:46:32 AM(UTC)
Whodat

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
hello,

A couple things I would try is not making a high content abv of wine when you start out...try to get a nice 12%, then run. While you wont have as much proof, the flavor tends to come out more. You can also try adding a thumper or even a 2nd thumper that seems to "wash" the flavor into it a little more.

I usually flavor after running. Take your plums and fill till there's like 5 inches to the top in gallon pickle jar with them. Pour 3 pnds of sugar on top and fill the rest with your shine. Stir once a day for a week and strain. You can repeat the process and use the same plums (fruit), just add more sugar and shine.

While you wont have "clear", you'll have more flavor, and be able to keep a high ABV as you want to (as your taste will allow) without having to add a thumper, or running a "fruitier" wine.

Blueverry Brandy
Offline turko77  
#4 Posted : Saturday, April 18, 2015 6:06:06 AM(UTC)
turko77