logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Backwash  
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 30, 2014 10:28:08 AM(UTC)
Backwash

Groups: Registered

"Let me start to say I am just a beginner. I have completed 6 washes and this run was a 4th gen. sweet feed wash with rye added. 10 gallon wash, 10 lbs. SF, 2 lbs. rye, and 12 lbs. sugar. Steeped the SF and rye for 1 hour in 2 gallons hot backset, melted sugar, cooled wash to 85F and added to fermenter. Aerated for 15 minutes with drill blender and capped off. SG was 1.082. Wash bubbled for 3 weeks. let clear for 4th week. FG was .996. so ran it on Black Friday.
Pulled off 8 oz. fores at 178F. collected in 6 oz. jars. First jar was 170p, which smelled like fores.
jars 2 and 3 were 152 p, jars 4 thru 8 were 150 p. all these jars came off at 184F. Proof dropped off a couple % each jar till jar 20 which was 135p and I could smell the tails. Jar 20 was collected at 189F.
My pot still has been really consistent with temp and proof to within a couple of %. The previous runs have all been rather predictable with regards to the constant temp rise and dropping proof. This one has me puzzled as to why the temp held for so long and the proof is so much higher than previous runs. never shut down the run with tails at so low of a temp before, but I figured if I smell tails, I'm done. Does anyone have any ideas as to why this run came off so differently as the earlier ones? Thanks, B."
Offline Backwash  
#2 Posted : Friday, December 05, 2014 9:07:44 AM(UTC)
Backwash

Just a bump. Any Ideas why the tails would come at 187F and at 135 P? And what about the proof holding for 5 or 6 jars of 200 ml of product? Trying to understand this one. Thanks, B.
Offline scooterf  
#3 Posted : Sunday, December 14, 2014 11:04:57 AM(UTC)
scooterf