logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Bholc91  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 2:25:30 AM(UTC)
Bholc91

Groups: Registered

"Ok so im very new to all this but am also very interested and willing to learn, so i might ask some dumb questions but just bare with me. So ive built a pressure cooker still and have my mash fermenting but i have a couple questions about my still. So...my design: i have a cheap walmart pressure cooker with 1/4"" copper pipe running from the top to a stainless steel 3 gallon pot with about a gallon of water in the bottom. And then i have another copper pipe coming from that stainless steel pot to another stainless steel pot with the snake coming out of the bottom. Ive seen alot of pressure cooker stills with the copper pipe running straight from the pressure cooker to the snake pot so my question is, is the middle pot really necessary? From what ive gathered so far the middle pot is to catch any excess mash (puke) from getting into my catching jar but i may be way off there. Any help is appreciated
thanks,
Bholc91"
Offline Bushy  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 15, 2013 4:12:00 AM(UTC)
Bushy

Hi Bholc91, A picture would really help. If the 1/4" pipe coming off the boiler goes through the lid and down close to the bottom of the SS pot, and the pipe coming out going to the worm starts close to the inside top of the lid, the pot is called a Thumper or Doubler. It is supposed to be filled about an inch above the end of the incoming pipe with some of the mash you are running, not water. It's purpose is to impart more flavor and increase the ABV of your run, and also catch anything that pukes up. But hopefully you won't puke anything up, in a 1/4" pipe that could cause a blockage problem. Rule of thumb is fill the boiler with no more than 75% capacity