logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Redfisher  
#1 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2013 10:41:17 AM(UTC)
Redfisher

Groups: Registered

I am new to the home brewing scene and am in need of help from some of the seasoned veterans. My setup is a standard 15.5 gallon keg with the PSII collumn. I have the hose pack, copper mesh and raschig rings for packing. My cooling medium is a small submersible pump in one of those kiddy pools. My first run is an agave wash, cause I love tequila, and once the temp got to the 175 mark I saw no results for about an hour. My keg is sitting on a turkey fryer burner so I increased the gas a little and before I knew it the temp had shot up to 200 degrees. I got that under control and brought the temp back to around 180. Have been watching it for over an hour now with not so much as a drip. I have read several posts where guys are getting consistent product starting around the mid 170 range, so I can only assume I am doing something wrong. I really appreciate any assistance I can get. Sincerely, Sober in Fl.
Offline heeler  
#2 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2013 10:51:10 AM(UTC)
heeler

Groups: Registered, Moderator

Was thanked: 15 time(s) in 15 post(s)
"Describe your wash and fermentation indepth and that will make it easier for most to reply..
If your wash was a flop that might be the reason for no likker."
Offline Redfisher  
#3 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2013 11:05:39 AM(UTC)
Redfisher

The recipe I used came from a friend and it was 7 jars of the agave nectar, 8 gallons of distilled water, and one packet of yeast. I had the wash in a new 30 gallon plastic can and let it sit for about 8 days. The drum is not air tight either. the packet of yeast I used was just that rapid rise stuff and not brewers yeast. Could that be the problem? Thanks in advance.
Offline Hokey