logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline poppy-cob  
#1 Posted : Sunday, March 03, 2013 5:53:00 AM(UTC)
poppy-cob

Groups: Registered

I've got 5 lbs of corn malting and I'm looking to find out what would be the ideal sg after all ingredients have been added before pitching.........and I'm using distiller's yeast (DADY)........Confused
Offline scotty  
#2 Posted : Sunday, March 03, 2013 6:01:46 AM(UTC)
scotty

Groups: Registered, Moderator

you really need to supply details------ malting corn is a diferent process than mashing
Offline poppy-cob  
#3 Posted : Sunday, March 03, 2013 6:08:15 AM(UTC)
poppy-cob

"your right......my bad. I want to run a straight corn mash and would like to end up with 10 gals for the boiler.

5 lbs corn malt
10 lbs sugar
10 gals well wtr
distiller's yeast

your right, I'm new at this........maybe I'm asking stupid questions or the wrong questions or just wording them wrong either way I'd like to do this the best I can........."
Offline chrisknight  
#4 Posted : Sunday, March 03, 2013 8:45:38 AM(UTC)
chrisknight

In order to convert that corn in the mash, you'll need some 2-row or 6-row barley.
1.060 - 1.080 might be a good SG goal.
In my opinion, if you're using flaked maize/malted corn, you need to mash 70% corn and the rest barley, or barley and rye malt. Don't add sugar. But, I'm an AG snob... LOL

It looks like if you use 5lbs corn (and get it to convert) and 10 lbs (brown) sugar you'll have in 10 gal water about 1.061 SG at 75% extraction effinciency.
2 pounds of 2-row barley (to mash the corn) will give you about 1.066 SG
Offline poppy-cob  
#5 Posted : Sunday, March 03, 2013 10:57:47 AM(UTC)
poppy-cob

"
Originally Posted by: chrisknight Go to Quoted Post
In order to convert that corn in the mash, you'll need some 2-row or 6-row barley.
1.060 - 1.080 might be a good SG goal.