logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline fatboylo  
#1 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 3:18:53 AM(UTC)
fatboylo

Groups: Registered

I am new to this and just made my 1st run didn't perform as expected can anyone advise? My mash was 2.5 lbs of corn meal, 6lbs of sugar, 2 packs of highly active yeast and 3.5 gallons of distilled water. I had only very min movement after 72 hrs so I pitched another pack of yeast. It being to work but never did get real vigerous. hydrometer showed a potential of 10% alc. I got the newbie jitters and ran 2 gals through my 12 qt pot still that I built with a 45 degree angle and a cooling tower. My final product was about 3/4 of a pint of 140% or 80 proof does this sound right. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks Fatboylo
Offline fatboylo  
#2 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 3:20:13 AM(UTC)
fatboylo

sorry that begin to work, and not too vigerous.
Offline muadib2001  
#3 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 3:45:08 AM(UTC)
muadib2001

So the hydrometer showed a reading of 1.075 (10% PA = 1.075 on my hydrometer) before the ferment started?

What was the reading on the hydrometer after the ferment ended and before you ran it?

Did you include any nutrients for the yeast?

Did you aerate the wash after pitching the yeast?

You can use the formula (OG - FG) * 129 to calculate the alcohol in the fermented wash. Say your final gravity was 1.000, then you would have 9.675% alcohol in your 2 gallons of fermented wash. That would mean you had about a fifth of a gallon of alcohol in the 2 gallons of wash. You're not going to get ALL of the alcohol out of the wash, but you got some.

Did you separate the output into small jars and cover them with a paper towel and let them air out overnight? Did you sniff the jars to see if any were foul smelling?

140% is 70 proof.
Offline fatboylo