logo                   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline jrlevers  
#1 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 2:28:15 PM(UTC)
jrlevers

Groups: Registered

"I'm pretty new to distilling and due to time/$$$/space issues I've concocted a simple pot still that runs decently using a basic corn meal/sugar wash.

What I'm looking for is a basic molasses/sugar recipe to make roughly 2-4 gallons of wash. (I'm running a small system. I don't drink a lot and don't need a lot of excess liquor on hand.)

If anyone has any information (basic or involved) they would care to share, please, let me know!

Thanks!"
Offline sterlep  
#2 Posted : Sunday, July 24, 2011 4:39:32 AM(UTC)
sterlep

Groups: Registered

"Golden RUM:

4.5 Gallons of Water( Note: total amount used in process).
10LB Light (or Dark) Brown Sugar + 8 OZ Molasses (Blackstrap)
Dissolve in 12 qt pot of very hot, 1 gal. water ,cool and pour into 5 gal. bucket, then add additional gal. of water. Divide the sugar/water solution between 2- 5 Gal. bucket(s).
Add to each bucket equal amounts of the remaining water and allow to cool until lukewarm.
Add 1/2 of Rum Turbo Yeast packet to each bucket and stir until distributed. Cover buckets for fermentation (~ 5 days
75 F), stir every 12 hrs until "complete". Follow "process" starting at "Fermentation Complete". Dilute "raw" rum to 45% (90 proof), add 3 OZ (6 TBSP) charred oak chips for two weeks, and then filter.

"Spiced Rum": (Start with "Golden Rum" and add the following to each Quart container:)
1 TSPN: Vanilla
1/3 TSPN: Cinnamon
2: Cloves
1 Pinch: Allspice
Infuse for 1 to 2 days or until powder particles congeal (intermix into a solid), then filter and add: