Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: basic moonshine recipe

legacy36

basic moonshine recipe

hey im new to this whole distilling process, i have a 15.5 gallon keg and purchased a essential extractor ps11 column, i need a basic moonshine recipe to make around 12 gallons of mash, i have sugar, cracked corn, but i am also confused as to which yeast i should use, i have instant dry yeast i just picked up at the store but im not sure if that will work. i see you can make mash out of just sugar, yeast, and water but not sure if that would taste good. So i am basically looking for a step by step on how to make 12 gallons of mash using cracked corn, sugar, water, and whatever yeast would work best.

THANKS!

okie
    I'm a newbee also but I have been reading for many years on how to distill. Before that I was a wine maker and that gave me tons of experience with the fermenting process. I had experience with sanitation, brewing techniques, yeast, racking, etc. For me going to the next step to distillation was another step all be a huge step.

You didn't mention any experience or knowledge you already have so my suggestion is to read, read, read. There are a few great forums and they have all the knowledge you'll need. Just one observation from me, your still is a reflux design. Those are for clear spirits like vodka, rum, gin. You would want to run a whiskey wash in a pot still. Can you adapt it to run as a pot still?

legacy36
    i honesly have next to zero knowledge on how this stuff works, i understand the basics i just need to figure out how the fermintaion process works along with what kind of yeast and everything else to use to make 12 gallons of mash, ive been told my keg and essential extractor psii will work to run whiskey no problem.. NEED MASH RECIPE any basic mash recipe will work with me! thanks guys

okie
    Do a search. There is a search button in the upper right corner, use it.

John Barleycorn
    Hey Okie,

Quote Originally Posted by okie View Post