Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Valved Reflux Condencer Top?

michael2000

Valved Reflux Condencer Top?

I want to build a valved reflux still from plans at "Building a world class still."
    Could someone tell me, does the condenser head have a cap on it? Wouldn’t the vapor just go out the top? I did find a thread where Mountain Man asked the same question but he didn't get an answer. Thanx in advance MB

Wade
    Okay, I am very new at all this but my thinking is that all refux columns should have a cap on them so as that you can pack them easily and have a thermometer in there.

michael2000
    Quote Originally Posted by Wade View Post
    Okay, I am very new at all this but my thinking is that all refux columns should have a cap on them so as that you can pack them easily and have a thermometer in there.
    Thanx for the reply. I'm in British Columbia Canada. But the thig is with this particular design the column with the packing does have a cap for the thermomiter. The condencer is conectted to the column by a tee. In the instructions they don't show a top on the condencer. again I can't help but think that with no top the vapor coming from the column will escape to the atmospere rather than be condenced back to liquid. The plans I've refered to are at http://www.moonshine-still.com/ can anyone else answer my question? Thanx in advance MB

mtnwalker2
    Not my type of still that I use. I do read a lot, and no those types do not use a cap. If properly designed and run, all vapor is condensed prior to reaching the top, and actually air is sucked in. Reqiers a lot of attention and tweaking i think.

I may be wrong, and some may correct me on this.

Full description and info. is given in the homedistiller.org site

laneflash

"Danger"